Review: TRUTH IN PATIENCE by Beth Fehlbaum

The Patience Trilogy
Beth Fehlbaum
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Fiction
Publisher: Steady On Books
Date of Publication: March 29, 2016
Scroll down for Giveaway!
Heartbreaking. Courageous. Necessary.
Truth in Patience is the third installment in the PATIENCE series by young adult author, Beth Fehlbaum.  It follows the struggles of teen Ashley Asher in the aftermath of sexual abuse.  Ashley follows her path to healing despite struggles with self-worth, intimacy and family relations.  This courageous teen must find a way to deal with her demons, and stand up to the people who should have been have protecting her from the evil she endured.
What a tragic story to tell, but one that needs to be heard.  Beth Fehlbaum paints a tragic, but realistic picture of what’s left in the wake of sexual abuse, and the damage it does to it’s victims.  Kudos to Beth’s brave efforts in advocating for those who’s voices are silenced by those close to them.  I think these stories MUST be told, and those who let it go on and keep it quiet should be exposed and held accountable.
I highly recommend this book, and encourage readers to start with book one,  Courage in Patience, so Ashley’s story gets a chance to be told.
Tour Schedule

Check out these other stops on the tour! 

4/19       Margie’s Must Reads      — Review

4/20       Books and Broomsticks — Author Interview #1

4/21       Missus Gonzo    — Courage Excerpt

4/22       The Librarian Talks           — Review

4/23       The Crazy Booksellers    — Promo

4/24       The Page Unbound         — Review

4/25       It’s a Jenn World               — Guest Post

4/26       StoreyBook Reviews      — Author Interview #2

4/27       My Book Fix Blog              — Review

4/28       Forgotten Winds              — Hope Excerpt

4/29       Byers Editing Reviews & Blog      — Author Interview #3

4/30       Because This is My Life Y’all         — Guest Post

5/1          Hall Ways Blog   — Truth Excerpt

5/2     — Review

5/3         Blogging for the Love of Authors and Their Books – Review

Courage in Patience begins Ashley’s story. . .

Courage to endure.

Courage to survive.

Courage to overcome.

Tenacious 14-year-old Ashley Asher claws her way back to normalcy after enduring six years of an unimaginable Hell. Uprooted from her negligent and selfish mother, Ashley finds solace in the safety of her father’s home. Building a relationship with her stepmother, she’s finally able to open up and confront the past that haunts her.

With the help of her stepmom, therapist, and a group of troubled adolescents, Ashley battles her demons, struggling to find the normal teenage life she’s always wanted. Can Ashley find the strength and courage to overcome the horrors of her past while fighting for the future she so deserves?

Hope in Patience continues the story. . . 
Hope to heal.
Hope to grow.
Hope to evolve.

Still shattered from the horrific events of her childhood years, 15-year-old Ashley Asher is barely
holding it together. Battling her vicious and vile mother who still sees her as the villain and not the victim, Ashley’s stuck in a cycle of self-injury and self-hatred as a result–despite the many people who trying to pull her out of it.

Adolescence is hard, but throw in a new school, a new family, and a father she hardly knows, Ashley’s need for self-destruction and pain intensifies. Her new therapist, Dr. Matt, may be unconventional with bizarre antics, but he’ll do whatever it takes to pull Ashley out of the doldrums. Ashley just wants a crack at normalcy. But can her counselor and the friends and family who love her teach her that “crazy is the new normal” and that nobody has it easy?


Truth in Patience concludes the story. . .
Truth in the past.
Truth in reality.
Truth for tomorrow.

Finally adjusting to life in small town Texas, Ashley Asher sees a glimmer of what happiness really is. Even her new relationship with the attentive Joshua Brandt shows promise of a first romance. But Ashley’s fear of intimacy after years of unspeakable abuse may cause friction and distance in their relationship.

Determined to prove to her that she’s healing, Dr. Matt, her beloved therapist, shows her that “life is messy.” And he doesn’t know how messy it is about to get. When her mother decides that Ashley belongs back in their hometown with her, Ashley is forced into another family feud that she isn’t prepared for. Refusing to leave behind the new life she created in Texas, Ashley and her mother go head-to-head. But can Ashley finally find the courage and strength to battle her demons when her mother might be the biggest demon of all?

In addition to writing Young Adult Contemporary Fiction, Beth Fehlbaum is a secondary English-Language Arts teacher who frequently draws on her experience as an educator to write her books. She has a B.A. in English, Minor in Secondary Education, and an M.Ed. in Reading.

Beth is a featured author on the 2015-2016 Spirit of Texas Reading List- High School. She is the author of the Kirkus Starred Reviewed Big Fat Disaster (Merit Press/F+W Media, March 2014) and The Patience Trilogy: Courage, Hope, and Truth (Steady On Books, 2016).

Beth is a member of the RAINN (Rape , Abuse, Incest National Network) Speakers’ Bureau. She has a following in the young adult literature world and also among survivors of sexual abuse because of her work with victims’ advocacy groups. She has been the keynote speaker at the National Crime Victims’ Week Commemoration Ceremony at the Hall of State in Dallas, Texas and a presenter for Greater Texas Community Partners, where she addressed a group of social workers and foster children on the subject of “Hope.”  

Beth is a survivor of a traumatic childhood, like Ashley in The Patience Trilogy, and the day-to-day manager of an eating disorder much like Colby’s in Big Fat Disaster. These life experiences give her a unique perspective, and she writes her characters’ stories in a way meant to inspire hope.

Beth lives with her family in the woods of East Texas.

Each win autographed copies of all three books in The Patience Trilogy  
Plus a $50 Amazon Gift Card

Each win autographed copies of Courage in Patience 
Winner names drawn 4/19, 4/24, 4/27, 4/30, 5/3

  April 19 – May 3, 2016

blog tour services provided by


One thought on “Review: TRUTH IN PATIENCE by Beth Fehlbaum

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s